Questionable Tactics

Standard

This story is from Feministing.

We apparently missed last week’s barbecue in Sweden: A feminist Swedish group protested the gender pay gap by burning 100,000 kronor ($13,000):

“The Feminist Initiative party says the money set ablaze on the Swedish island of Gotland on Tuesday represents the amount of money the country’s women miss out on every minute in comparison to men.Party leader Gudrun Schyman says “it may seem desperate to burn 100,000 kronor, but the situation is desperate as well.”

I can’t decide whether I think this is bad-ass or just bad activism. I mean, I’m all for making radical statements to get your message across, but couldn’t have that dough gone to, say, women who are affected by the pay gap? But considering the sad fact that doing that wouldn’t have gotten them a story on AP (and would they have gotten the money donated from the advertising agency otherwise?) is something worth noting as well.

I am on the ‘bad activism’ side myself. What do you all think?

One thought on “Questionable Tactics

  1. I would say bad activism as well- I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it just seems like the point they tried to make would be lost in the fact that they’re burning money. Money that could have been put towards lobbying for fair pay.

Leave a Reply

